h1

Cannonball Read #38: Hidden Riches

04/17/2010

Oh Nora Roberts, thank you! I was on vacation last week, and I only had a couple of paperbacks with me. After finishing Girls of Riyadh, the others I had just weren’t doing it for me. So I scoured my mother-in-law’s paperbacks and found Hidden Riches by Nora Roberts. Now this is not classic literature by any means, but the plot was decent enough to suck me in and give me something to be entertained by in the airport.

Taking place in the mid-1990’s, this novel focuses on a Philadelphia antiques dealer who finds herself at the center of a number of murders and robberies.  Her new tenant (handsome with a past, of course) is a former police officer who helps her through everything – while falling in love with her.

Yes it’s formulaic, but not ploddingly so. The novel begins with ex-police officer, Jed Skimmerhorn, relating just enough of his past to be intriguing and make me continue reading. The plot then skips over to a millionaire art smuggler whose latest shipment has gone off course.  And where has that shipment gone? To the beautiful antique dealer, Dora Conroy. Those kitschy pieces she had taken a fancy to actually contain priceless artifacts that were intended for the murderous Mr. Finley. One by one the purchasers of those pieces are either murdered or assaulted, and it’s up to Dora and Jed to find the solution.

Add in some hot sex scenes, and some witty dialogue, and you have enough of a light novel to get you hooked. Don’t get me wrong, I tried a couple of other books before I picked this one, and none piqued my interest quick enough to make me stuff them in my carry-on bag.  I’ll have to look for some other Nora Roberts paperbacks the next time I’m traveling. They’re entertaining and fun, and if I didn’t have the Cannonball Read going – nothing to dwell on.

Leave a Reply

