h1

Interval Training

07/21/2010

Doe, a deer, and Doe's two fawns.

Today I did my first stint of interval training, and it was much harder than I anticipated.

Interval training alternates bursts of high intensity with periods of low intensity.  I did a little bit of research and decided that I would give running .25 miles at a high speed (4oo meters) and walking the same distance. But how to determine where to change from run to walk? I knew my “once around the loop” route was 2.4 miles run, but I didn’t know how to decide where I was changing speeds.  I went to walkjogrun.net and plotted out different .25 sections and wrote them down.  Going by the road layout and the various corners, it really turned out to be more like .3-.33 mile sections.  If I could run each section faster than 3:00, I would be running faster than my current goal speed.

Planning the run was the easy part! I dashed off at the beginning like that pair of German Shepherds from yesterday was chasing me, and whew! It was tough to keep that pace for the first leg.  I didn’t keep a steady pace, but as best as I could tell, I did run faster than 3 minute miles at least for the first leg of it. The rest were least right around that, give or take. Yes, I do have a stopwatch on the watch I use, but I am not 100% sure each leg was under three minutes.  I’ll have to watch that more closely.  Maybe next time I”ll bring a pen to record the times.

In short – intervals are hard!  I was really breathing heavy at the end of each running section – which, I guess, is the point.

Supposedly this type of training helps you increase your speed. I’m willing to give it a few more shots and see if I get good results. Or maybe I’ll just see a few more deer.

7 comments

  1. I haven’t done this in a while. Last time I did it, I remember someone telling me it was called the “Fartleg.” I’m so much more comfortable calling it interval training. I am working on getting in shape and eventually hope to do a 5K, too. Maybe I’ll give this a try!

    I remember it helped me a lot with pacing before and with really pushing myself at the end of the length.


    • If you’re interested in coming to New Brunswick on 9/5, you could run this one with me!


  2. Hi Bonnie,
    Interval training is very hard, but the results can’t be beat either. My trainer is starting me back up with interval training next week. It burns alot more calories than regular running as well which is a big plus. Good luck! xo


    • What does your trainer have you do for interval training?


      • I am not sure what Terri will have me do (shes the new trainer focusing on getting in shape for running) but Curtis used to have me run on treadmill @ 6.0 and then down to 4.0 and than back up for about 4 intervals and then do 10 mintues of strength training and then back on the treadmill.. I would be dead now if I tried that.. it burns calories like crazy though. I am on my way to the gym now to do the treadmill intervals see how much I can do.


  3. wooops – about 2 mintues on each speed..


  4. Intervals are super hard but the results are great and actually show up in your performance pretty fast.

    P.S. I’m a fellow cannonballer.



Leave a Reply

