h1

Mswas’ CBR-III Review #21 – If You Ask Me by Betty White

08/14/2011

Who doesn’t love Betty White? She’s so with it and funny, not to mention charming. She’s written a number of books over the years, but I don’t believe I’ve ever read any of them. Her recent book If You Ask Me: (And of Course You Won’t) is a very enjoyable read, but I wanted more.  Another reviewer wrote that there were two words to describe this book, “short” and “sweet” – and she was right.

There’s not much to White’s book honestly, and it was a bit choppy to read. Still there were some cute stories about her more recent appearances – like this about having a cue card person on Saturday Night Live. He gives her instruction:

“Keep your eyes on me and the cards. Don’t look at Tina Fey.”

I’m thinking, How can you play a scene with Tina Fey and not look at Tina Fey?”

“Don’t look at Tina and your eyes won’t move and you’ll be fine. And she’s doing the same thing, he said “trust me.” I did and it made all the difference.

And then she moves right on to the next story. I wanted more detail.

There are entertaining sections like this but they were all very brief. I must give White credit, though, she penned the entire thing in longhand. I don’t know how detailed I’d be writing the whole thing out. Still, I would have liked to hear either more detail in anecdotes, or just a greater quantity of them.

The photography was great and Betty just looked glamorous. I mentioned in the Julia Child biography, I do prefer to have photography interspersed throughout the book, rather than a few in the center, so that is a plus for the book too.

I did enjoy what was in the book, but it felt a little thin. Maybe some of her other books, which are either biographical or about animals and animal rescue, are more substantial.  I really enjoyed the read, but I’m glad I borrowed it from the library rather than spend $15 on it.

One comment

  1. Thanks for this – I will absolutely get it from the library if I decide to pick it up.

    I’m with you on the photos! I like when they become part of the narrative and not something stuck right in the middle.



Leave a Reply

